Magazine Rugby

Femminile: Rachel Malcolm capitana e quattro uncapped nel gruppo della Scozia per i due test autunnali

Creato il 11 novembre 2019 da Soloteo1980 @soloteo1980

Rachel Malcolm, terza linea delle Loughborough Lightning, è stata scelta come capitana della Scozia Femminile che domenica prossima (17 novembre, kick off 3.10pm) sfiderà il Galles nel primo (di due) test match autunnale, il terzo della nuova stagione (contando i due giocati, e vinti, in Sudafrica a cavallo tra settembre e ottobre). Helen Nelson, sua compagna di club che ha guidato la squadra finora, sarà vice-capitana.

"The squad absolutely loved the experience playing in the Southern Hemisphere, but there really is nothing like playing in front of a home crowd and we can't wait to get back to Scotstoun," ha detto Malcolm.

"It is the greatest honour for me to be named as captain this season. I can't wait to lead the girls out on home turf and hopefully we can put in a performance for our fans."

Philip Doyle, head coach della rappresentativa femminile, ha scelto di convocare un gruppo di giocatrici esperte ma ha anche voluto testare la profondità della sua squadra, chiamando quattro giocatrici uncapped.

Lana Skeldon, una delle giocatrici più esperte e carismatiche del gruppo, è stata costretta al forfait per infortunio. In prima linea, quindi, Doyle può contare su Lisa Cockburn, Megan Kennedy, Panashe Muzambe, Mairi Forsyth e Jodie Rettie.

Anche Sarah Law ed Elizabeth Musgrove (che, come Hannah Smith, in settimana è entrata nel numero di giocatrici con un "2021 contract") non sono state convocate perchè ancora alle prese col recupero dai rispettivi infortuni.

Delle quattro uncapped, Evie Gallagher e Sarah Denholm sono state promosse attraverso lo Scottish Futures Programme, mentre Evie Tonkin ed Alex Wallace sono entrate nel Scotland Women Performance Programme passando per il Scottish Qualified Programme.
"We had a fantastic start to the season in South Africa against a very physical team. I was proud of the squad's performance when we came away with two away wins," ha detto Doyle.

"Whilst it was two very positive performances, we still had a lot to work on ahead of these upcoming Tests. A training weekend earlier this month allowed us to train together again and also introduce some new players. "Rachel Malcolm really impressed me in South Africa when she stepped into the on-field captaincy. I believe that she has the leadership needed for this team in this crucial season, supported by Helen Nelson. "It is disappointing that we won't have Lana Skeldon and Sarah Law playing in these Autumn Tests. Both picked up injuries at a recent training camp and are focussing on recovery so that they can come back strong in the New Year. Elizabeth Musgrove is also still recovering from a recent injury and I am happy to see how she is recovering. "We are using these Tests to bring a couple of new faces into the squad to expand our depth ahead of the Six Nations. Evie Tonkin has been training with us for a few months now and she received a cap for Scotland 7s during the summer. "I have been chatting to Alex Wallace for a while now along with colleagues within the Scottish Qualified programme and it will be great to have her train with us. "Evie Gallagher is part of the Scottish Futures Programme and it is encouraging to see so many players coming from the pathway programme right now. "I am looking forward to seeing how this blend of new and experienced players front up against Wales and Japan."

Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park)
Sarah Bonar (Loughborough Lightning)
Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park)
Mairi Forsyth (Corstorphine Cougars)
Evie Gallagher (Edinburgh University)
Megan Kennedy (Stirling County RFC)
Jade Konkel (Harlequins)
Rachel Malcolm - CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning)
Rachel McLachlan (Darlington Mowden Park)
Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Panashe Muzambe (Edinburgh University / Watsonians)
Jodie Rettie (Saracens)
Emma Wassell (Corstorphine Cougars)

Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University)
Abi Evans (Darlington Mowden Park)
Megan Gaffney (Watsonians)
Mhairi Grieve (Waterloo Firwood)
Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)
Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)
Helen Nelson - VICE-CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning)
Chloe Rollie (Harlequin)
Hannah Smith (Watsonians)
Lisa Thomson (Darlington Mowden Park)
Evie Tonkin (Darlington Mowden Park)
Alex Wallace (Harrogate RFC)

Ritornare alla prima pagina di Logo Paperblog